Alasdair MacPherson - Head of Sixth Form

A warm welcome to d'Overbroeck's Sixth Form

d’Overbroeck's is an independent school in Oxford offering an exceptional academic and extra-curricular programme. Our programmes provide excellent opportunities for individual growth through shared values and an ethos of commitment to each other.

  • d’Overbroeck’s started life as a Sixth Form only in 1977. Over the years, we have evolved and grown to become a successful 11 – 18 school.
  • There are around 370 students across the Lower and Upper Sixth, so our Sixth Form is the biggest part of our school. Many of our Year 11s progress from 7-11 to Sixth Form and we also take around 130 students from other schools each year. We have a mix of day students and boarders from the UK and internationally giving us a global community from which all of our students can benefit.
  • We have a compellingly distinctive ethos and a more ‘grown up’ environment than other Sixth Forms. We encourage students to be more independent and to express themselves by supporting them to grow in whatever they are passionate about. Finally, the quality of teaching and pastoral care is what supports our high calibre students to become the absolute best they can be.

Ethos and values

Our ethos and values are based on a focus on the individual and helping individual students be the very best they can be.

Learn more

Term Dates

2019-2020
Autumn
  • Starts: Tue 03 Sep 2019
  • Half-term: Fri 18 Oct - Mon 28 Oct 2019
  • Ends: Fri 13 Dec 2019
Spring
  • Starts: Mon 06 Jan 2020
  • Half-term: Fri 14 Feb - Sun 23 Feb 2020
  • Ends: Fri 03 Apr 2020
Summer
  • Starts: Mon 27 Apr 2020
  • Half-term: Sat 23 May - Sun 31 May 2020
  • Ends: Fri 03 Jul 2020
Bank Holidays
  • Fri 08 May 2020*

*Changed date from 04 May due to the 75th Anniversary of VE day

Other important information.

Current staff vacancies

We’re always looking for talented individuals to join both our teaching body and our support staff. View our current vacancies here.

Learn more

Hire our venues

We are accredited by several independent school associations in the UK, including the Boarding Schools Association.

Learn more

Policies, inspections & accreditations

We have a number of school rooms available to hire for events throughout the year.

Learn more